South Wayne St. Milledgeville, GA 1932
Around 1886, John Clark Grant, a farmhand working near Monticello, Georgia became tired of his job, took the money that he had saved, and bought some watchmaker's tools. The self-taught watchmaker set up a bench in a friend's shop repairing watches and almost anything else that people brought in. After becoming acquainted with the trade, John opened a jewelry store of his own in Monticello. Around 1895 J.C. Grant moved his business to Eatonton, Georgia where he was in business for about fourteen years.
Grant moved his wife and six children to Milledgeville because of the better educational opportunities there. He bought out the bankrupt stock of Star Jewelry Company, and in 1909, Milledgeville became home for Grants Jewelry Store. Grant was remembered as a "quiet, dedicated man" who fathered six children, four of whom followed him into the Jewelry business.
Until 1970, J.C. Grant Co. never had an employee outside the family. Even today, five generations later, family's still the backbone of the business. John Jr., grandson of the founder, along with his daughter Jean Grant Graham still work in the store. In addition to fine jewelry and watches, J.C. Grant Company also has a fully equipped jewelry repair shop, an accredited gem laboratory as well as bridal registry services and fine gifts. J.C. Grant Company is indeed a "full service" jewelry store.